End Scene

Nicole headshot color-corrected

Dear YPT family,

Thank you.

The past seven years I’ve spent with you have been beautiful, challenging and highly rewarding. It has been my honor to serve this organization and this community, working alongside such talented artists of all ages.

Nick Jost picFor those of you who know that I was once a YPT student, it is perhaps unsurprising that I’m leaving to pursue my M.F.A. in Playwriting. But it was surprising to me. As an artist, I sometimes feel that I am split in two. I am an educator and a collaborator, someone who measures her success by the success of others. I am also a writer, driven to share my own individual voice and measure my success by my own standards. In graduate school, it is this second side of myself that I will explore, diving deep into the development of my craft.

But that doesn’t mean I’m leaving my other side behind. These two distinct practices, my dual ways of being an artist, are complementary and mutually enriching. Teaching makes me a better writer. Writing makes me a better teacher. Working hard to uplift voices not often heard onstage makes me a better artist. Being an artist provides a way for me to give back to my community.

IMG_3712

I am not sure where this path will take me, but I know that wherever I go I will benefit from all the time we spent together. I am so grateful to have gotten to know all of you, so inspired by your bravery, your determination, your creative spirits. I’m truly excited to see what you do next.

I’ll be cheering you on!

Yours,

Nicole Jost

YPT Student, 2002, 2004
Intern, 2006-2007
Part-Time Staff, 2008-2010
Program Manager, 2010-2012
Artistic Director, 2012-2015
Diehard Fan, 2002-always

NJ + student @ readthru

Published by

yptdc

Young Playwrights' Theater teaches students to express themselves clearly and creatively through the art of playwriting.

2 thoughts on “End Scene”

  1. Congratulations, Nicole! The 2015 New Play Festival book has served as great summer reading for me and a memorable reminder of the amazing plays YPT featured this past year!

Leave a Reply

