• Donate to YPT!

“Polished” on the Road

Julie watches her playWe reached out to playwright Julie Kashmanian recently to talk about the upcoming Express Tour Showcase performance of her play, Polished. Julie’s play was performed at last year’s New Play Festival, and she will get to see it again on Monday when the Express Tour comes to GALA Hispanic Theatre for one night only after touring to schools and nursing homes in the area. Read what Julie has to say about the Tour below and  check out  photos of the Tour on Facebook!

***************************************************

My experience with YPT started with me pitifully struggling to come up with a plot idea that I could plausibly write a play about. Now, almost a year later, it’s just a week from the day I will see my play produced for the second time onstage, and I can’t really believe it.

The Monday after Thanksgiving is the date of YPT’s Express Tour Showcase performance, featuring a cast of insanely talented professional actors and four family-friendly plays written by local students. These plays were written as part of YPT’s in-school programs to give voice to young people through the art of playwriting.  Last April I attended YPT’s New Play Festival—the first time that these Express Tour plays were performed—and I was awed by the creativity and ability of both the other playwrights and the actors. I am so grateful to YPT that my play was one of the 12 performed, and the experience of watching my play brought to life onstage for the first time was one that I will never forget.

It’s shocking to think that soon I will have the opportunity to watch my play produced again by the same brilliant company who first animated the words that I was so not confident about. All I can say is, thank you to YPT for giving kids a chance to express themselves through and learn about playwriting.  I hope that you can join them on Monday, November 26, 7:30 pm, at GALA Hispanic Theatre, 3333 14th Street, NW, Washington, DC, to see why the work that YPT does is so important. Happy Thanksgiving, Happy Playwriting, and keep on supporting YPT!

Julie Kashmanian
YPT Playwright

Leave a Reply

