• Donate to YPT!

This Summer and Beyond at YPT

The YPT staff is back from our company retreat and so excited to start the school year! As we prepare our programs and performances for the year, we wanted to give everyone an update on our summers and the year to come at YPT.

Liza Harbison, Communications and Graphic Design Associate

Favorite movie of the past year: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 (end of an era)

Best thing you did/plan to do this summer: I am headed to Europe for a 2 week vacation! I can’t even explain how excited I am.

What will you do at YPT this year, in a nutshell: I will continue to produce all of YPT’s visual communications, but will also be strategizing communications on a larger scale.  And I am very excited to continue assisting with the Young Playwrights’ Workshop!

Name one thing you’re most looking forward to in the year to come at YPT: I’m always so excited to meet our new students (especially the Young Playwrights’ Workshop members) and read their brilliant words. They inspire me every day, and I love finding new ways to share their stories with the public so everyone knows what I already know: that our students are awesome!

Nicole Jost, Associate Artistic Director

Favorite movie of the past year: Moonrise Kingdom. Or The Muppets.

Best thing you did/plan to do this summer: I’m getting married!

What will you do at YPT this year, in a nutshell: I will oversee all of our in-school and out of school time programs, making sure all our students have great experiences with YPT. I will also produce all our performances of student plays, bringing their voices out into the community and inspiring respect for young artists.

Name one thing you’re most looking forward to in the year to come at YPT: The Young Playwrights’ Workshop! The Workshop program continues to grow, and I can’t wait to see what the new members dream up.

Laurie Ascoli, Program Associate

Favorite movie of the past year: Probably the Muppets!

Best thing you did/plan to do this summer: In a few weeks I’ll be heading to Boston, to see one of the most wonderful kids I’ve ever worked with live his dream of performing the title role in Billy Eliot on the National Tour.  I am also planning to see tons of friends and family while there.  I’m pretty excited.

What will you do at YPT this year, in a nutshell: This year I’ll be managing pretty much every aspect of our programs, from communicating with partner schools, to training and overseeing teaching artists, to guiding the winning playwrights through the New Play Festival process.  I’m pretty excited about this too.

Name one thing you’re most looking forward to in the year to come at YPT: I can’t wait to meet all of our new students and read the amazing plays they write.  I’m also incredibly psyched to be teaching the kids at Swanson Middle School for the third time!

Brigitte Moore, Acting Executive Director

Favorite movie of the past year: The Avengers

Best thing you did/plan to do this summer: I’m completing my Master’s degree in Public Relations and Corporate Communications at Georgetown University in August! It has been amazing applying ideas and strategies from my Master’s program to my day-to-day work at YPT over the past two years.

What will you do at YPT this year, in a nutshell: This year, I’m taking on a new role as YPT’s Acting Executive Director. I’ll be responsible formanaging YPT’s artistic and organizational vision and strategy, and ensuring that we have the people and resources to effectively achieve our mission. Super exciting.

Name one thing you’re most looking forward to in the year to come at YPT: We are publishing a book! I still can’t believe it. The book will feature some of our best plays from the past seventeen years and sample curricula and assessment results. You’re going to love it.

Alison Beyrle, Development and Producing Associate

Favorite movie of the past year: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 or Like Crazy (an indie movie that no one saw but everyone should)

Best thing you did/plan to do this summer: A week-long, somewhat spur-of-the moment trip to Prague in May with my best friend … but hoping there are more fun things to come!

What will you do at YPT this year, in a nutshell: Write a lot of grants, brainstorm exciting new activities for YPT, help produce our season, and run an 8k for YPT in October!

Name one thing you’re most looking forward to in the year to come at YPT:  Reading and seeing all the hilarious, creative and inspiring plays that our students come up this year.

Are you as excited as we are about YPT’s year to come? Get involved!

The YPT Staff

Leave a Reply

