Felipe Cabezas: It Matters

Women and Wallace changed me.

Theater played second – or more accurately, third – fiddle throughout my child. You see, I attended the world’s most testosterone-driven grade school: if you didn’t play sports, your classmates would laugh at you, and the teachers would beat you up. (Okay, so that’s an exaggeration. Sports was the extracurricular activity, though – so much so that, over eight years, the school offered my class only one opportunity to perform in a play.) Academics and sports easily tied for number one on my important-things list, and I did both well.

And there was little ol’ theater . . . which I enjoyed but which was not as important as earning good grades or dominating on the soccer field. I enjoyed seeing shows and performing but only if the actors made me laugh or I made others laugh. Theater was a hobby: a fun time-out from life. Not much more; not much less.

And then I performed in Women and Wallace, in which Wallace’s relationships with girls throughout his youth are affected by his mom’s early death. (If you can’t tell, the show is a light-hearted comedy. Commedia dell’arte, some might say.) During rehearsals, I truly explored the complexities in human relationships and grew more as a person as I applied questions to my own life. These discoveries exploded in magnitude, though, during the production’s run. While the audience sat transfixed at each performance, I could feel – almost see – every person gain new insights into what “relationship,” “death” and “love” mean and could swear (but I won’t because I’m a good Catholic) that every person left the theater somehow changed than when s/he entered two hours earlier.

Theater suddenly became more than a hobby: not superficial or merely enjoyable, something with substance. Yes, it is a medium to entertain people (and hopefully it does), but it is also a channel to invite individuals and societies to question who and what they are and to grow from the experience. That is what I hope to share with audiences in each production and why theater matters.

Click here to learn more.

Felipe rehearses for "A Jewel of a Date" by YPT student Dakota Wenberg.

Felipe Cabezas
YPT Actor

One Comment

  1. A friend and I enjoyed your perf in the DC micro fiction “hoover” piece. We had completely diff interpretations of it, tho, so I wanted to ask you what you thought the character’s point of view was. Sorry to ask such a broad question, but…
    Thanks, Laura

    Reply

Leave a Reply

